stillaaa.blogg.se

What does mac hdd format type
What does mac hdd format type








what does mac hdd format type

what does mac hdd format type

Do some googling and see what you and your setup support/need/like. Although I'd rather stay on for me known terrain like Windows. Or start playing around with Linux Live-CD's, which is a realistic option if I need to restore data. But now I am also dependend on the Qnap for accessing data from this disk. Suppose something happens to your system and you want to access the data somewhere else? I would definitely go for NTFS since it is efficient, supports high file sizes and is supporter by every system I ever want to connect it to (at the moment) But then, my Qnap TS-xxx does not support NTFS for its RAID arrays and I have EXT4 to be able to store the large file sizes.

what does mac hdd format type

But quite frankly, compatability and supported file sizes are much more important. You can study on the technical details on which the file systems are based on and deside which is better for you. FAT, NTFS is a better choise in general but FAT is supported by almost all simpler devices, NTFS sometimes not. FAT32, NTFS is a better choise in general but FAT32 is supported by almost all simpler devices, NTFS sometimes not. EXT3 is a little bit better in terms of compatibility but then EXT3 but cannot handle large file sizes which EXT4 can. I was unable to get it to work reliably on windows 7 圆4, but that's me, others have reported it to work fine (evantually) so apparantly it is possible.). EXT4 is (based on my experience) much more difficult and is only supported propperly by unix based systems. All popular OS's support it (without too much troubels). Do you want maximum storage space, or maximum compatability, or something else? NTFS is really popular and I would say also very portable. In essence, all file systems can store your files so all will do but it depends what you want. So a little bit more info about what you want to do with it would be helpfull. Although this may sound spacious, this value is also achieved and sometimes surpassed by inexpensive SSDs with flash storage and mechanical HDD hard drives. What’s more, the maximum size of a FAT32 partition is only around 2 terabytes.

WHAT DOES MAC HDD FORMAT TYPE MOVIE

I guess it completely depends on your wishes. With the prevalence of huge movie files as well as DVD and Blu-ray formats, this is far too small.










What does mac hdd format type